To: The UMBC Community
From: Freeman Hrabowski and Philip Rous

We invite you to attend the Presidential Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 2, in the University Center Ballroom. Please join us in celebrating the accomplishments of this year’s campus- and system-wide award recipients.

The event begins at noon, and a light lunch will follow.

We will honor the following faculty and staff colleagues, each of whom was selected by a committee of peers:

Marie desJardins
Professor, Computer Science and Electrical Engineering
2014-17 Presidential Teaching Award

Robert Rubenstein
Professor, Sociology and Anthropology
2014-17 Presidential Research Award

Kevin Joseph
Assistant Director, Division of Information Technology
2014-15 Presidential Distinguished Professional Staff Award

Susan Velli
Business Services Specialist, Music Department
2014-15 Presidential Distinguished Non-Exempt Staff Award

Jeff Leips
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
2014 University System of Maryland Board of Regents Award for Excellence in Teaching

Justine Johnson
Associate Director, Meyerhoff Graduate Program
2013-14 Jakubik Family Endowment Award

We also will honor the recipient of the first Karen L. Wensch Endowment Award for Non-Exempt Staff.

Release time will be granted for employees to take part in this event, and everyone is encouraged to attend. All campus offices will remain open, and services should continue to be offered. Supervisors and staff are asked to work together to coordinate staffing.

Again, we hope you will be able to join us for this year’s Presidential Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony. We look forward to seeing you.
© University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 • 410-455-1000
email questions/comments • UMBC is an Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Institution

If you wish to be removed from this group's mailing list, click here